Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Canadian Election Results 2011

The 2011 Canadian General Election) was held Monday, May 2, 2011, to elect members to the House of Commons of the 41st Canadian Parliament.

The Conservative Party (under leader Stephen Harper) remained in power, moving from a minority to a majority government. The New Democratic Party won the largest number of seats in their history, including a large majority of seats in Quebec and will form the Official Opposition for the first time. The Liberal Party won the fewest seats in their history and party leader Michael Ignatieff was defeated in his own riding, and has since annouced he will stand down as party leader. The Bloc Québécois, which had always won at least a majority of seats in Quebec, lost nearly all their seats, including the seat of their leader Gilles Duceppe, who resigned as BQ leader following his defeat. The Green Party won their first elected seat, that of party leader Elizabeth May

The preliminary election results are available on the Elections canada website

In the current climate in the UK of debate over voting systems, and proportionality it is interesting to compare on this table party standing (number of seats gained) and popular vote percentages. The table clearly illustrated the benefit of the Canadian system for the two larger parties (Conservative and NDP - New Democratic Party).

No comments: