Thursday, 29 July 2010

Small States Digest

A free online newsletter published by the Commonwealth Secretariat, Small States Digest carries short articles on issues of concern to small states.

The Commonwealth defines small states as sovereign states with a population size of 1.5 million people or less. Larger member countries – Botswana, Jamaica, The Gambia, Lesotho, Namibia and Papua New Guinea are designated as small states because they share many characteristics of small states. Thirty-two of the 54 member countries of the Commonwealth member are small states.

Small States Digest Issue 2 has just been published and articles include:
  • Transforming Guyana’s economy while combating climate change: a low-carbon development strategy
  • Globalisation at a crossroad? , and
  • Monetary Policy Transmission Work in Pacific Islands: A Study of Vanuatu
Small States Digest Issue 1 was published in April and included the following articles:
  • Caribbean economic expansion, trade and investment: an innovative process for exploiting opportunities arising from the economic partnership agreement: implications for CARIFORUM member states
  • From monocrop to diversification: The success story of Mauritius
  • Natural disasters and small states: Impact of September 2009 tsunami on Samoa

No comments: